How To Repurpose Your Old T-shirts

tshirt yarn-balls

Normally, when a piece of clothing is past its wearable lifespan, it goes straight into my cleaning rag collection;  that is, until recently.  A photo similar to this one appeared in my Facebook page feed.  I had seen plenty of T-shirts repurposed into bags, scarves, headbands and even skirts. Most, if not all, projects required some kind of sewing.

My curiosity was piqued and I had to try this !

If you are a regular reader of this blog, you will know that I am not seriously into knitting [or sewing, for that matter].   I don’t  [or is that can’t?]  follow a pattern, so I only knit in straight lines. Hence I love knitting items like scarves and coathanger covers. Well, since we live in a warm climate, a scarf was out of the question, so the coathanger cover won.

I loathe plain wooden coathangers because I don’t like indentations in my clothes, or how some fabrics catch on any fine splinters. Hence most of my hangers are covered and then colour-coded to the outfit. It may sound a little OCD but when you need to distinguish Black from Dark Blue in your wardrobe, having them hung on a pale background makes the process a whole lot more time efficient.  Read How to Save Time & Money in Your Wardrobe for more tips.

I repurposed an old XXL T-shirt my husband could no longer wear in public due to the many holes it had acquired. So I laid it flat and started cutting it into strips.

TIP:    Now let me warn those who are non-knitters, like me, that the width of the fabric needs to matched up with the size of knitting needles you use.

I own one pair of second-hand knitting needles I purchased from a local charity store for 20 cents. They are a size 10.

I mistakenly cut the T-shirt fabric into about 10mm strips [just under 1/2 an inch] which was way too wide for such a heavy-density [all cotton] fabric.  I should have cut the strips about 7 or 8 mm wide in this instance.  Had the fabric been lighter density, like a nylon blend, I might have gotten away with the 10mm width. Trial and error is a great teacher!

What I also discovered, by trial-and-error, was that it was easiest to use purl stitch in this situation.

Anyway, this is what I ended up with:

20160331_100843-1

20160401_072022_003-1

 

 

Did you see the ring pull?

Read why it’s there:   How this Ringpull will Save you Money

 

 

 

I enjoyed this project so much, now that I am over the learning curve, that I have started my next coathanger cover with a lighter-density T-shirt using narrower strips.

2016-04-01 17.12.35

 

 

No need for purl stitch this time.

 

 

 

 

Completed !

Completed !

Happy Repurposing!

Glenda

 

T-shirt yarn ball Image courtesy of:   http://www.motherearthnews.com

I have been described as Savvy; a Bargain Hunter and Tight. My fav is Value Shopper. I love a bargain to save money. I do this in-store, online, buying 2nd hand, recycling & upcycling. This is good for my pocket & good for this Planet. Check out some of my quirky projects as well as read about how you too can save yourself some money & time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Repurpose
One comment on “How To Repurpose Your Old T-shirts
  1. Sunyich says:

    My partner and i wouldn’t thoughts producing a write-up or even elaborating on many of the topics an individual compose with regards to right here. Again, great web site!

    Like

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 171 other subscribers
Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 38,273 hits