Have you taken the $21 Supermarket Challenge yet ?

challenge-accepted

My Chef  [ a.k.a. my Hubby ]  has injured himself and he won’t be in His Natural Domain  [ i.e., The Kitchen, Pantry and Freezer ]  for about the next 2 months …  so I am in the driver’s seat for feeding the family … oh, and playing nurse.

$21 challenge book cover

I recently read a fabulous book called  ‘ The $21 Challenge ‘ by Authors Jackie Gower and Fiona Lippey.

This book is a simple guide to show you how to spend just $21 on food to feed your family for the week, without coupons.

You can visit their website for FREE sample chapters to get you started:  http://www.simplesavings.com.au/21dollarchallenge

Their basic principle is that you clean out your pantry, cupboards, refrigerator and freezer of all those hidden-away items that you have forgotten to eat.   By spending just $21 weekly on a few fresh ingredients  [ like bread, milk, some meat, fruit and vegetables ]  to supplement these items you can make delicious, nourishing recipes.

Challenge Accepted !

Hubby runs His Natural Domain like a Survivalist.  [ I’m beginning to wonder how deeply the Y2K scare affected not just him, but other people ? ].  That is, if we ever do have a natural disaster, to have enough non-perishable food for at least 12 months.  I personally think he has watched too many movies.

Since I’ve been Cook, I haven’t receive any complaints from Hubby and have, in fact, received quite a few praises.  I must have picked up some cooking tips from him after all these years     [ that’s what he says, anyway … ].

I believe I will easily achieve this $21 challenge.  I didn’t need to visit the supermarket for the first 2 weeks.  On week 3, I just picked up a few essentials and self-indulgences  –  Wine and Chocolate anyone?

I’ll keep you up-to-date at the end of my challenge.

Do you have any similar experiences or Can you recommend a book like this?

Glenda

Blogger | Sales Trainer | Sales Creator | Social Media Prime Mover | Promotor of Local Business | Lover of Great Service

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in food, kitchen
3 comments on “Have you taken the $21 Supermarket Challenge yet ?
  1. jncthedc says:

    Eating organic whole foods might make the $21 challenge a bit challenging. Although, if the $21 challenge was a weight loss challenge eating organic whole foods would likely win the event!!(considering the cost of many of these products!!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I wrote about the  $21 Supermarket Challenge  whereby I challenged myself to clear out the pantry, refrigerator and freezer of all the […]

    Like

  3. […] you have been following my $21 Supermarket Challenge you will know that I have cleaned out my freezer of ‘forgotten food’ and am now working on […]

    Like

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Gift Boxes made from Repurposed Plastic Bottles

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 174 other followers

Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 13,157 hits
