The $21 Challenge achieved …. well almost

red tick of approval

Recently I wrote about the  $21 Supermarket Challenge  whereby I challenged myself to clear out the pantry, refrigerator and freezer of all the ‘forgotten’ food and then spending only $21 per week to supplement what I ‘found’

Well, I have had mixed success.  One evening I thought I was going to be reheating a cooked meatloaf to find that it was in fact a frozen choc-orange cake.  I was glad that I had taken two items out of the freezer that morning to defrost otherwise that could have been a very ‘interesting’ dinner.

Here are just some dishes that I served up using some found items:

250720151923Found in freezer:   Bread and crusts

The bread and crusts were dried out in the oven whilst cooking another meal, and become breadcrumbs for a Chicken Schnitzel

 

260720151928Found in freezer:  a piece of cooked, boneless leg of Pork

This piece of leftover pork was neatly wrapped and dated at the bottom of the freezer. This became Thai Salad and I must admit it was   awesome!

satay sauceFound in pantry:  a partly used jar of Peanut Butter

This jar of peanut butter hadn’t been used up because there was a 1cm [1/2 inch] thick layer of peanut oil on top.  So I poured this oil into a  non-stick pan and used to fry chicken breast.

This added a deeper flavour when I added the chicken

The remaining peanut butter became a Satay Sauce for two Indonesian dishes:  Satay Chicken and then Gado Gado

Satay sauce photo sourced at www.theyummylife.com  I admit that I have borrowed a professional photo for this one, as my photo didn’t make it look this appetising, but it tasted delicious!  Yum.  Grins all ‘round

Italian sausages

Found in freezer:  two Italian sausages

I squeezed the meat out of the artificial cases, stir-fried it and added to bottled pasta sauce [passata] and then stirred the lot through the cooked spaghetti. This was one of the quickest meals that I have ever made.

 

instant mashed potatoes

 Failure:

Found in pantry:  packet of Instant Potato Mash [ 3 years past its best before date].

Let me say I really hated this product. Hubby said he didn’t mind it, but I think the compost bin [worms] will prosper with the leftovers.

I can’t say that I spent $21 per week; it was more like $30 per week for the weeks that I did go shopping  [ but then I did miss two weeks ].  Considering ‘The $21 Challenge’ book was written in 2012, and the increase in the cost of living in the meantime, I still reckon I’m in front.

I still saved around $70 per week so I probably saved around $200 all up. I am still proud of this, plus I am now able to defrost the freezer.

This challenge has taught me to live a lot simpler, think outside the square when it comes to food preparation and look harder at what we already have on-hand before going to the shops. Now, all I have to do is put the leash on hubby-the-chef when he resumes dominion over the kitchen.

Have you tried this challenge yet?  What did you learn?

Until next time,

Glenda

I have been described as Savvy; a Bargain Hunter and Tight. My fav is Value Shopper. I love a bargain to save money. I do this in-store, online, buying 2nd hand, recycling & upcycling. This is good for my pocket & good for this Planet. Check out some of my quirky projects as well as read about how you too can save yourself some money & time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in food, kitchen
3 comments on “The $21 Challenge achieved …. well almost
  1. jncthedc says:

    Nutrition and quality food is an area I don’t reduce spending. That doesn’t mean I don’t budget. Living within one’s means reduces stress and provides the opportunity to increase personal creativity. Finding ways to satisfy recreational activities and other discretionary spending within a budget is challenging. If you succeed you increase self confidence. It feels good to have control of one’s life.

    Your $30 spending was a great success. Saving $200.00 was a big savings. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I want to see whether I can get more aware and more appreciative of what I purchase next time; maybe I can try “the $21 challenge” I came across at https://growingsnowballs.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/the-21-challenge-achieved-well-almost-save-money-f… […]

    Like

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 171 other subscribers
Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 38,273 hits