Have you stopped pod casting yet?

coffee pods

I have been totally against purchasing a pod system, for making hot beverages such as coffee, tea and hot chocolate at the push of a button, because I was concerned about the amount of waste it creates

However, recently I have read about how you can refill these pods as well as recycle and repurpose them:

Recycle:

TerraCycle is in more than 20 countries [ at the time of writing this blog ] including USA, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Brazil, Japan and 14 European Countries.

Zero Waste Boxes can be purchased for your home or office, into which you can place your used pods.  Once full, a Box can be dropped off at one of TerraCycle’s partners, and it will be returned to TerraCycle for recycling.

Used Nescafe Dolce Gusto pods can be dropped off at collection points or if you prefer, you can download a FREE shipping label and send them back by post.

There is yet another system for Nespresso pods. They can be dropped off at certain florists and garden centres

Repurpose:

There are some very creative people in this world. Go to Pinterest for some inspiration on how you can repurpose your pods:

Nespresso flowersNespresso treesNespresso Necklace - Source: beadinggem.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Re-Use / Refill:

The region in which I live contains several boutique coffee plantations, and I have lately noticed at least one local business refilling coffee pods.  I am guessing that this is a new trend.

There is even a YouTube clip showing how you can purchase a Pod Refill Kit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtX_qzTJjg4

There are also YouTube clips showing how you can refill your old pods with ground coffee and use household aluminium foil to seal the pod.

Bearing all that in mind, it still seems like a lot of effort to go to, but hey …  different strokes, as they say.  I will stick to plunging my coffee in a French Press as I am sure I am saving time and money.   I can also repurpose my coffee grounds.  Refer previous post The Secret to Saving money on your daily grind

What is your preferred method for making coffee and why?

Until next week,

Glenda

I have been described as Savvy; a Bargain Hunter and Tight. My fav is Value Shopper. I love a bargain to save money. I do this in-store, online, buying 2nd hand, recycling & upcycling. This is good for my pocket & good for this Planet. Check out some of my quirky projects as well as read about how you too can save yourself some money & time.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in crafts & home, Repurpose
3 comments on “Have you stopped pod casting yet?
  1. WFM says:

    I use Nespresso pods, mostly because the cost of a latte made at home (max $.85/pod, plus milk) is insanely low compared to the cost of a latte bought elsewhere. Plus, the machine and milk steamer were a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jncthedc says:

    Great ideas in your posting. Nice to see others concerned for our planet’s well being. My favorite method and coffee is very old school, but offers an abundance of aroma and rich flavor. I buy Bustello coffee (espresso) and place it in a Bialetti coffee pot which prepares the coffee on the stove. For true coffee lovers of bold taste, they will appreciate a cup of this coffee.
    Very glad to have found your blog site. Looking forward to future postings.

    Like

    • Glenda Smith says:

      Thank you for kind words Dr Colter. I remember my Mother using this method when I was a child and I must try this myself.
      Thank you stopping by and I hope I can inspire more people to care about our planet’s future.
      Glenda

      Liked by 1 person

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 171 other subscribers
Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 38,273 hits