a Crafty way to Achieve Your Goals & Aspirations

decoupaged tray

Have you have watched the movies, read the books or listened to the audio books of  ‘The Secret’ or ‘The Power’?   If not, please feel free to use these links that I have provided for you.

Perhaps have an interest in The Law of Attraction, Vision Boards or Feng Shui.  If so, this project is for you to keep you focused on achieving your goals and aspirations.

Christmas, New Year and Easter are now all out of way.  You should be more-or-less back to ‘normal’.  Now, with distractions gone, is a perfect time to do some goal-setting.

Are you a Visual person?  If so, writing down your goals and aspirations might not have worked for you.  Seeing a picture of what you want or want to achieve is a good, constant reminder of where you are, where you want to be and what you want to achieve.

This is where your découpaging skills come into play to create your vision.

If you believe in the Law of Attraction, you can use découpage to attract the things you want in life.

I have been interested in Feng Shui and The Law of Attraction for a few years now, but I have recently come to the conclusion that both of these concepts are much like the modern day Vision Board.

The Chinese didn’t have colourful glossy magazines to cut up, like we do today, to create our vision. They created reminders to themselves of what lifestyle they wanted to lead and goals they wanted to achieve by placing items or auspicious figurines in a prominent position of each room and their home as a whole.  Like the 3 legged frog with i ching coins to attract luck.

feng shui 3 legged frog

I have used this principle on my latest découpaging project – a decorative tray for my coffee table in the loungeroom.

Start with a blank cardboard carton of your choice

Start with a blank cardboard carton of your choice

I started with this cardboard carton and placed my goals and aspirations for 2015 using the principles of Feng Shui in accordance to a Bagua map or compass.  A Bagua map or compass is a tool used in Feng Shui to map a room or location.

Different map sectors correspond to aspects of one’s life.  These sectors are believed to relate to every activity of life and are divided into such categories as:

  • Fame & Reputation
  • Marriage & Relationships
  • Wealth & Prosperity
  • Health & Family
  • Creativity & Children
  • Knowledge & Self-Cultivation
  • Career & Life Journey
  • Travel & Helpful people
I used Orange as my background for this project as this is an auspicious colour for my loungeroom.      The Yellow colour represents Earth.

I used Orange as my background for this project as this is an auspicious colour for my loungeroom. The yellow represents Earth.

I have used the same repurposing principles used in my previous post How to Découpage with Junk Mail.  Check this post out for further instructions.

The beauty of découpaging to set your goals is that once you have achieved them, you can update them as often as your successes occur with more images.

To Create anything,

To Change anything,

All it takes is just one thing,

The Power of You

If you would like more information on Feng Shui check out sites like:

Do you have any experiences that you would like to share?  Please share your tips below so we can all benefit

Until next week,

Glenda

Blogger | Sales Trainer | Sales Creator | Social Media Prime Mover | Promotor of Local Business | Lover of Great Service

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in crafts & home
2 comments on “a Crafty way to Achieve Your Goals & Aspirations
  1. Simply Save says:

    I’ve used the visual technique before! I had a picture of my car that said “How much do you own?” I hung it on my fridge and kept a copy in my wallet as a reminder and motivation to reach my goal of paying off my car early. It was a helpful reminder for me!

    Liked by 1 person

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Gift Boxes made from Repurposed Plastic Bottles

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 174 other followers

Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 13,157 hits
