How these workwear shorts will Organise your Life

Shorts with Red border

 

Don’t you hate it when you get to the checkout and you wish you had three hands:

  1. To unload the trolley
  2. Find your credit card
  3. Find the correct loyalty card for that store?

Most people’s lives revolve around their phone &/or tablet, but what about all the other “ stuff “ that we carry around ?

Where do you put it ?

Whether you carry a handbag, man bag or satchel you need to be able to find what you want, when you want it.

As you can see below, my handbag is quite modest in size

 

My not-so-big handbag

My not-so-big handbag

Well I unpacked it recently and discovered why I can’t find anything:

  • Wallet
  • Mobile phone
  • 2 set of keys – house and car
  • Pens
  • Notepad
  • Business cards
  • Sunglasses
  • Mints & Chewing gum
  • Pack of Tissues
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Muesli bar
  • Reusable cloth eco bag
  • Aspirin & Paracetamol
  • Bandaids
  • Safety pins

I realised that I need to get organised.  I need a filing system.

Here is how I made my Office-in-a-Bag Filing System:

 

Requirements:

  • Workwear Shorts with lots of pockets:   The size you select will depend on the size of your bag or satchel
  • A list of what you need to carry
  • Tape measure
  • Fabric unpicker
  • Sewing pins
  • Safety pins
  • Sewing needle and thread

Step 1:

  • Prioritise what you really need to carry around
  • What do you need to access quickly and easily?   e.g.  your mobile phone, your keys, your glasses
  • Armed with this information, calculate how many pockets you require to accommodate each of the important items.  You will find you will need less fabric than you first thought.

Step 2:

  • Measure the footprint of your smallest bag or satchel, especially if you don’t carry the same bag each day.  Your Office-in-a-Bag Filing System must be capable of easily moving from bag to bag
  • Check to see how much smaller the footprint compares to the zippered entry as this will be slightly smaller – as you can see from my bag shown above

Step 3:

  • Select which fabric panels you will require according to how many pockets you will need

I used three types of pockets on the outside to hold my sunglasses, mobile phone, pen, notebook plus the waistband.  I used the waistband as a handle for my Office-in-a Bag Filing System, keeping its belt loops to clip my keys onto.

  • Deconstruct your shorts with your fabric unpicker

 Step 4:

  • Place your fabric panels with the pockets on the outside of your Office-in-a-Bag Filing System where you can access them quickly

Step 5:

  • With the remaining fabric panels you will be constructing filing sectors like an expanding file to form extra places to put your remaining items

Step 6:

  • Use your safety pins to hold the fabric panels together to test that all your items will fit snugly without having to tug on items to get them out

Step 7:

  • If you are happy with the layout you can start using your needle and thread to make your final construction.

 

With the handle on my Office-in-a-Bag Filing System, I can pull it out of my handbag in a hurry to transfer it to my backpack for travelling.  I even had space left in my handbag for my reusable eco bag.

Here is the final outcome.  What do you think?

 

 

Repurposed shorts collage

My Office-in-a Bag Filing System

 

LIKE on Facebook   www.facebook.com/growingsnowballs

 

Your may also be interested in a related repurposing project   From Rags to Richness

Blogger | Sales Trainer | Sales Creator | Social Media Prime Mover | Promotor of Local Business | Lover of Great Service

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in crafts & home, Repurpose
3 comments on “How these workwear shorts will Organise your Life
  1. […] You may also want to read How workwear shorts can Organise your Life […]

    Like

COMMENT HERE: Will you be trying this?

How to Repurpose Plastic Bottles into Gift Boxes

Gift Boxes made from Repurposed Plastic Bottles

Register here to receive your Money Saving Tips via email

Join 174 other followers

Join the conversation on Facebook
Number of Visitors
  • 13,351 hits
